in deference to what I love

This journey has been hard, but I am not barred.

I know there is something more,

something I can’t yet see,

something beyond obscurity,

something just for me.

 

Pushing through the doubt and strain, I’ll gladly do it all again.

For all the faith that you bestowed

this is a path I can’t forego

this is the only path I know

and through the misery, I shall grow.

 

For the horizon really is not that far, closer and closer each day that we are.

This is the dream that I’ll never leave

a dream so compelling it keeps me awake

a dream that will test how much I can take

a dream of mine that nothing can break.

 

Because even from the very start

I have loved it with all my heart.

Leave a Reply

