137

I think one of the reasons I’ve always had a hard time getting myself to study is because there’s never been any pressure for me to do so.

I don’t think my mom’s ever really once told me to study and she never got me a tutor except for that time I asked for one ’cause enriched math had me realizing I was not very enriched in math at all.

In fact, my brother and I spent most of our childhood gaming. And that’s exactly where I find myself heading towards a lot of the time.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not writing this post to blame my mom for my ever increasing procrastination habits. Instead, I’m very appreciative of how I was raised.

Sometimes I hear about the parental pressures some of my friends are facing in university and it makes me feel really thankful that my parents leave me to do whatever I want. Yes, deep down inside, my mom wishes I chose business over science (less years of school and still relatively okay in terms of finding a job), but she always let me choose exactly what I want.

And it’s sad to hear stories of people who were forced into an occupation.

And it’s frightening how extreme Asian parenting (though I’m sure it’s also present in other cultures) can be.

And it’s not that I don’t feel empathetic towards people struggling to meet their parent’s standards,

But I do feel fortunate.

That’s one thing I feel thankful for in the face of exam period.

It’s a warming feeling to know that even if my exams don’t go well, I won’t receive a lot of backlash (except from myself).

In light of this, I’m trying my best to ensure my motivation to do well stays high.

I can do this.

I hope.

Leave a Reply

