Braver today

I am braver today

having survived the sadness inside

having found my own way

to thrive

having pushed

the darkness aside

and having stumbled upon

the strength

to survive

 

I am braver today

because of the hate I’ve received

because I’ve accepted

my flaws

and I know

what to believe.

 

I am braver today

in spite of all that has come

today

a new ship sets sail

lifting

the anchors

of the past.

 

I am braver today

but some fears remain

some doubts still linger

and some things just don’t change

 

but I know how to dig deeper

to unearth the courage

that has been buried for years

to pull myself together

on the toughest of days.

 

and I know that even if I fall today

even if I lose my faith

and the world is crashing down around me

I know

I just know

I will be braver tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

