123 – Trying not to compare myself with others.

I am surrounded by brilliant people.

And I suppose, I always have been.

I know it’s stupid to compare myself to other people, but I feel like it’s a natural tendency and it’s hard to stop doing it.

I look at my friends with better GPAs and likeable personalities

and see them struggling to get into medical school

and I can’t help but think

if they’re having trouble getting in, how could I possibility?

On one hand, they’re motivating me to try harder (though I’m unsure if this motivation is actually working).

On the other hand, it’s depressing (perhaps this is countering the motivation?).

It’s hard keep the thoughts out of my head:

I’m not good enough.

They are better than you.

But I know that thinking that way will only move me further from my goal.

So I mustn’t compare myself to anyone but myself.

I must shift the comparisons I’m making from out to within. I know I should be worrying about how I’m going to improve rather than thinking about how much there is improve.

I know I shouldn’t, but I still do.

I don’t do it often, but it sneaks its way into my head from time to time.

I think it’s just something I have to accept.

Maybe I just need to shift from “I’m not as good as them” to “They’re better so I can be better too”.

I think I can do that.

I know I can.

10 thoughts on “123 – Trying not to compare myself with others.

    • It is a matter of perspective! 🙂
      Thank you for the support. >___< I don't think my GPA is good enough to get me where I want to be nor do I think my personality is quite up there. Sometimes I get jealous of what you're studying because I feel like my heart would prefer languages over science. 😛

  1. Many of us need to practice more positive self-talk and less negative self-talk. Every time we think one way that isn’t helpful, we need to switch to something that is. I think you mentioned a couple of things that are helpful. Struggling and others seem to be more qualified? But some of them are struggling, too. They probably have the same thoughts and just bow their necks and plow on. And if it seems true that others are succeeding when we’re not, then focus on what one can do to remedy that – solutions instead of self-deprecating woe. PLOW ON! 🙂

  2. You can do this! Wonderful thoughts here. I love this, because I do the same thing in a different way. There are poets much better than I am…..and so it goes. Peace.

Leave a Reply

