Pieces of Yesterday

Yesterday was a flurry of activity.

Adrenaline pumping

Heart thumping

Intrinsicality.

 

Waking up late

With a million things

On my plate

I just didn’t want to disappoint

I didn’t want to make mistakes.

 

I rushed to the subway

With a knapsack full of clothes

And a bowl of jello in my hands.

 

Gritted through the hour journey

And made it through the doors

Took my smile out of my pocket

And found my rhythm on the floors.

 

Somehow

Since childhood

I’ve become

A nervous shy wreck .

And in certain situations

I can feel the onset

Of regret.

 

But yesterday was different

Because all the little smiles

From all the little faces

And all the eager questions

and unexpected embraces

Warmed me from my heart to soul

So that even when I had to go

The feelings lingered on and on

Like a beautiful, delicate, lovely song.

6 thoughts on “Pieces of Yesterday

Leave a Reply

