109 – Classes, Stress, & the U of T TA Strike

Doodling in class 'cause sometimes it gets too slow.

Doodling in class ’cause sometimes it gets too slow.

I don’t think I’m going to make my goal of 10 posts for this month. It’s not that I’ve been too busy to blog, but more that I haven’t made the time to sit down and really digest my thoughts. Now that I’ve gotten my final midterm out of the way, I think it’s time for me to kind of reflect on what’s been going on in my life during the past 2 weeks.

I’ve been watching a considerable amount of House, MD. About to finish the second season. I’m not sure what I’ll do when I approach the 8th (and last) season. It’s extremely addicting and satisfying to watch. Very, very good stress reliever

Went to the Innis Athletic Banquet last Thursday. Kimmy convinced me that it was a good idea to go for free food. It was. Food was amazing and so were the cocktails. I had four drinks and despite everyone else thinking I was drunk, I felt sober as hell. This genetic condition sucks. Wish I could actually get drunk (stupid missing enzymes). It was definitely interesting listening to my teammates outside of the playing field though. Heard some really interesting stories.

The U of T TA strike has been looming over the university for the past three weeks. Went to a student walkout last Wednesday (I didn’t actually walk out of class since I had already finished my lab by that time, but hey, I contributed to the mob of people walking out of class). People (both undergrads and grads) gave speeches and talked about why the strike and fair wages for TAs mattered to them. It was heartwarming. The “Hype Squad” came by and sang a few union songs with the crowd. Their rendition of “Solidarity Forever” brought back memories of when Mr. Martin sung it to our Middle Years class in ninth grade. I miss those times. The thirty of us in that program made some really sweet memories.

Back to the strike. Three weeks. Two tentative agreements (both rejected). And no resolution in sight. The university has called for an arbitration mediator to settle it. There is uncertainty if this will help resolve.

Tutorials disrupted, labs and classes cancelled. Clearly, this strike cannot go on. Luckily for me, the damage has been minimal.

In order to appease undergraduate students, the dean of the Faculty of Arts and Science informed us that we are allowed to drop or CR/NCR courses after we receive our final grade and that we can CR/NCR even if the course is required for our program. That means I can basically CR/NCR any course I don’t get an A in and manipulate my GPA to a 4.0. Tempting. Not sure if I will be doing any of that though.

I hope the TA strike ends soon.

My ROP assignments have been stressing me out. I feel like my supervisor expects too much out of us, especially considering we are just undergraduate students (and second years no less). Sigh. Term ends next week…Just get it done.

Doing another Brain Day presentation tomorrow. Got work after and then the CSU social. Gonna be a busy day. :s

I feel like I had more things I wanted to write about, but can’t remember them anymore. Will blog again if and when I do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

