80 – Fireworks & Happiness

I didn’t end up going to see the fireworks with my friends. Something about being really tired put me off from hanging out with people that most likely wouldn’t even give me any notice (I’d probably sit there and blend in with the sand, listening to conversations I wish I was a part of…or so it often goes). So I took a nap and told my mom I’d go see the fireworks with her instead.

I’m glad I ended up seeing them. They were stunning and our view wasn’t half bad considering we didn’t go hours in advance to scout out a location. I especially loved the really high and b
fireflowers and the really rapid-firing ones. I think it was my first time seeing fireworks sparkle so fast. It was pretty stunning. You’d have to be there in person to experience the sensation. Gonna post a few of the moments I captured with my phone camera (not the best quality, but you can get an idea of how nice it was to see it).

20140802_222454 20140802_222825 20140802_221617 20140802_221217

After a long walk back to the car and a fairly long drive (considering the heaps of cars all wanting to get home as fast as possible), we decided to stop by the new dessert place that opened up in the neighbourhood. It just kind of appeared out of nowhere and we had no idea when it opened. The desserts were average and overpriced, but I’ll admit the durian ice cream is pretty interesting. They gave us a rose and dark chocolate bar (my mom’s favourite!) cause apparently it’s China’s Valentine’s Day (some folklore related thing). That made us feel better about ordering a bunch of things we didn’t feel were worth it (I didn’t even photograph them!).

20140803_000319

 

All in all, I had a wonderful day despite starting off the morning with three hours of work and a lack of sleep.

Do I regret not going to see the fireworks with my friends? Not at all. I know my mom had been wanting to see them and I know going with her made me a lot happier than going with my friends would’ve. (That 1.5 hour bus ride to English Bay is a real turn-off).

I’m looking forward to enjoying the rest of the summer before I have to head back to Toronto. Going to look at tablets tomorrow (need one for school) and hopefully the Surface Pro 3 will be cheap enough for me to get. It just seems like my dream laptop/tablet/2-in-1.

My goal in blogging for the rest of this year is probably to outnumber sadness tags with happiness tags. Right now, the former is clearly in the lead (as seen in the tag cloud in the right sidebar), but I’m sure by the end of this year I can make it turn around. It’s time for me to start appreciating the things that make me happy in life rather than hate on the things that make me sad. Oh.. and I’ll try not to cheat and put a happiness tag in posts that aren’t even very happy. Let’s do thissss.

I’m loving life.

2 thoughts on “80 – Fireworks & Happiness

  1. my favorite part – My goal in blogging for the rest of this year is probably to outnumber sadness tags with happiness tags. Right now, the former is clearly in the lead (as seen in the tag cloud in the right sidebar), but I’m sure by the end of this year I can make it turn around. It’s time for me to start appreciating the things that make me happy in life rather than hate on the things that make me sad. ❤ Life is almost always gives us exactly what we expect to find………. ❤ love you….

Leave a Reply

