76

I’m *super* tired so this will be a fairly short post.

I’m a little worried about my transition back to UBC, but I know that whatever happens will happen and there’s little I can do about it (except maybe move back to Toronto) and it is meaningless to worry about it. Nevertheless, it is human nature to worry. It could be problematic. It could be smooth. I don’t know yet. And few people are comfortable with uncertainty (and I’m not one of them!).

Bought two new indie games from Steam…although I probably should stop glancing at all the summer sales or else I might end up buying more than I’ll actually play. Video games are fun – they push the limits of our imagination and bring the imagined into reality (well, virtual reality, but reality nonetheless) and I’ll defend them to the end. It’s nice to just travel into another world and explore somewhere not tainted but the normality of everyday life. That is not to say that it’s not fun to just enjoy spending time outside, playing sports or relaxing in a cafe. It’s just a different kind of experience. It’s a lot like an interactive movie – you can control where you go, what you do, and the actions and decision you make along a guided plot. I’m a real fan of creative output – movies, books, art, and even video games definitely fall into that category. Anyone that thinks graphic design and digital art isn’t as valuable as classical painting can go shove a paintbrush in their mouth (though not really, don’t do it, some paints are toxic).

I’m starting a new job soon…which will be more or less my first one. It’s definitely time for me to gain some independence and some experience in the working world. I know a lot of people that hate work and only a handful of people that love what they do. And I think that’s a shame. You shouldn’t be doing something you don’t love. I know some tasks can be fun at first and repetitive after doing it over and over, but I think there is a certain satisfaction from working hard and becoming good at your job that no one can take away from you. It doesn’t matter how small your task is, if it’s significant to you then you’ve already won.

I’ve been having horrid dreams lately and I hope this trend stops soon. I want the nice sweet dreams to come back – the ones where I’m exploring some magical world or battling creatures alongside my friends. Or even a nice simple one with people I love and good food. I think maybe I’m just having a bad year of dreams…Hopefully they’ll be gone as the season changes into a full blast of summer. I love summer, it’s my favourite season because nothing feels better than a nice beam of sunlight warming up your skin. It’s comforting, inspiring and makes the world beautiful around you. Plus it’s the season for all kinds of foods…and cool drinks…

Be happy. Take hold of your own bit of sunshine and don’t let anyone take it away from you. ‘Cause we all deserve to wake up every morning with a smile on our faces, with a reason to live everyday to its fullest.

3 thoughts on “76

Leave a Reply

