Haunting

There are dreams stuck to the edges of my soul,

They propagate, fluctuate beyond my control.

 

Will they overwhelm me when I close my eyes?

How much longer will I suffer from reprise?

 

I don’t know what to do to make it all go away,

They seem so hardheaded, so determined to stay.

 

For once, the darkness becomes my only friend,

Only with darkness will these nightmares end.

 

Familiar faces bring forth emotions deep inside,

They pull apart secrets that I have set aside.

 

Is it wrong of me to be so afraid?

These are the struggles that I chose to evade.

 

Wither away, please let me be free!

Can’t you see what you’re doing to me?

 

Vivid, cruel, the colours flicker in my head,

I’m terrified, traumatized by the fears on my bed.

 

Let it be known that I have tried my best,

Leave out all the details, leave out all the rest.

3 thoughts on “Haunting

  1. Sometimes when you’re terrified of making a bad choice, fear can you from choosing anything. But even choosing nothing is a choice. Fear will always exist for there will (hopefully) always be an unknown beyond your ability to see or reason. I used to think that getting older meant less to fear. As it turns out, being a grown-up doesn’t mean you’re fearless. It just means you fear different things.

    From my lowly perspective, I’ve found that it’s a good habit to do at least one thing you fear every day.

    Always you are loved, Nessa. ~ Bobbie

Leave a Reply

