tonight

tonight

new love filled my lungs with a raw breath of affection

tonight

i tucked you in the folds of my heart’s warm confection

tonight

i chose to lose my doubts and give my all to you

tonight

i turned myself away from all that i’ve been through.

 

and those who once made a mark at the crux of my soul

no longer leave cracks in the sections of my whole

and all those that i have claimed to love before

no longer leave me yearning more.

 

for you, i’ll view the world anew

for you, i’ll set my soul alight,

for you, i’ll pledge, i’ll pledge to do

all i’ve sworn to you tonight.

6 thoughts on “tonight

Leave a Reply

