muse of light

black, white,

muse of light.

 

pressing down with all my might

the keys of my sorrow

the sharps of my fight

my dreams of tomorrow

and the flats of tonight.

 

your roar is loud enough to conquer my doubt, soft enough to put me to sleep,

tender enough to soften my tears, true enough to reach way down deep.

 

sometimes i play you when the world shuts its lights away

when all i feel is the dull, cold gray.

and sometimes i play you when my life feels wrong,

when i’ve lost hold of what i knew all along.

but mostly, i play you when my heart has reached its bitter bounds,

when i’m in need of your soothing sound.

 

when i play you, you shed your black and white coat

and you light the colours inside you afloat.

 

i resent you so much when i am forced to play

but sometimes

just sometimes

you make my day.

11 thoughts on “muse of light

Leave a Reply

