36 – To Feel Without Thought

In my day-to-day life, I spend every idle moment thinking about what’s happening around me. The relationships that I’ve formed and need to maintain, the lessons I ‘ve learned and have yet to take, the goals in the future and those lost in the past, and the happiness I’ve found and have yet to touch upon.

It’s this consistent thinking that drives me again and again towards a void. Towards a place of sadness, of grief, of overflowing stress. It’s this overthinking that prevents me from the simpler things in life. It’s this overthinking that keeps me up at night.

Once in a while, however, I find a little peace in my heart. I stop thinking. I feel the world.

Sometimes it’s when I’m lying on my bed. My stuffed animals in my grasp. The still air and darkness as my cover. I feel the warmth, the security, the comfort that cause my thoughts to dissipate in that moment. Serenity at its finest.

Sometimes it’s when I’m out on a walk. The sun is shining bright – the symbol of a new day. Butterflies flutter about. The birds sing a song. The cherry blossoms in full bloom. The ground beneath my feet. I feel nature and that in itself brings me to contentment.

Sometimes it’s at night when I’m atop our home’s meager balcony. The stars glimmer in the distance and the moon sheds its light upon the steps. I make a wish on the first star I see and everything feels right. I hum a song into the darkness and I forget just for those few minutes, the problems lingering in my mind.

It’s summer. My favourite season. It’d be a shame to let it go to waste without moments like these.

For my last birthday, I received a mug with a very significant quotation upon it. It has never really left my heart:

“Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the number of moments that take your breath away.”

It’s time to set ourselves free to the world. Too many times do we just spend our time worrying about where we are, where we can go, what we’ve done, what we should do. Too many times we forget about now.

Let’s feel the world again.

7 thoughts on “36 – To Feel Without Thought

  1. You can find the ‘now’ more as you let go of the pain. It’s hard to let go of. You don’t belong in the void, but it wants you. You don’t have to give in. The people that don’t like who you are can, well, suck it. You’re amazing and beautiful and you’re going places. So slow down, you’ll be fine.

  2. Nessa – This post carried me away with you to those moment, sometimes so rare, when we let the world drop away and we connect to the whole, to feel the music of the soul singing to us. We are all beautiful, and in these precious moments we are given to know that again… You are so right that these moments of meditation, and contemplation are so important to our well being… Love and light! – gfs

  3. A good post with a very good message at its conclusion! Being reflective at the end of each day will always help the next when you are honestly looking at what you do wrong and what you do right and pray for help to change those thngs to make the next day better…I just wrote a poem about reflection at my site called “Changes”…i do it every night! It will help you to see clearer! Much love to you my sister!

Leave a Reply

