Craving

You held my hand and told me to be strong,

You pulled me tight and pulled me along,

But did you realize that in your absence still

I yearn for your hand? Your grasp bent my will.

 

I venture forth alone today, afraid yet brave,

Your touch, your warmth, I crave, I crave!

 

I wish that I had torn off the wings by which you left me by,

Had ripped them off in a flash of lust, had stopped you with a lie,

But time does not yield to my taunting threats,

Time does not consider rued regrets.

 

You will not return, but my ears are open to your call,

Tell me, darling, do you think of me at all?

8 thoughts on “Craving

Leave a Reply

