There’s More to Life

Stay calm, slow down,

And turn yourself right around,

Realize that there’s more to life

Than all the pain and all the strife.

 

This pressure hold you have on me

Has got to go, it cannot be,

Don’t want your restraints, your constant fears,

This is my life, I’ll live it without your tears.

If you bind me by such stifling rules,

Then you’re no better than those other fools,

But I guess you knew it all along,

That you and I aren’t right but wrong.

 

Stay calm, slow down,

And turn yourself right around,

Realize that there’s more to life

Than all the pain and all the strife.

 

So have you seen yourself lately?

Wounded by some sadness greatly,

Unable to look pass your silly whim,

Blind under your darkness so very dim.

You’re suffering some sin you haven’t committed,

For nothing, nothing at all – you can’t be acquitted.

Stop trying to make a mess out of what never was,

Stop trying to change what never does.

 

Stay calm, slow down,

And turn yourself right around,

Realize that there’s more to life

Than all the pain and all the strife.

 

You’re no Prince to dear Snow White,

Stop forcing yourself to be the knight,

There’s no relief to your pummeling strain,

‘Cause it stems from your own self-inflicted pain.

 

Stay calm, slow down,

And turn yourself right around,

Realize that there’s more to life

Than all the pain and all the strife.

16 thoughts on “There’s More to Life

  1. Lovely Blue

    The First Time I ever Wrote Poetry, was when I Wrote Songs back in 1998, after a Difficult Break Up… I had a couple Bands, but we never went further than the Rehearsal Studio… Still, it was an Amazing Experience, I Sang and Played Rhythm Electric.

    I started my Blog in August of last year, and never thought that I would Write so many Poems… But, I really Love Writing them

    Well done

    DarkJade-

    • Thank you.
      And I do believe that experiences in life trigger creative inspiration. Sometimes it’s the positive, other times it’s the negative. Either way, writing is development of inspiration and a form of healing. ❤
      I love your poetry and I do hope you'll continue this passion!

  2. You’re no Prince to dear Snow White,

    Stop forcing yourself to be the knight,

    There’s no relief to your pummeling strain,

    ‘Cause it stems from your own self-inflicted pain.”

    Favorite part. Good poem. You have such a gift.

  3. I feel like I could waltz to this (assuming I could dance!), as it spins and spins–just the right touch to the rhythm and the patterning to keep the theme spinning. Clever of you, my dear!

  4. Control and Love…is two different concepts

    There are those who are adept at their decepts

    Telling you what to do, saying what you allready knew

    Maybe it is time to find someone new

    Breaking your bonds is never easy,

    But staying in bondage is playing right into their hands

    The longer you think, the longer you ponder,

    Makes your heart grow ever fonder,

    Of those who wants you, closely kept…

Leave a Reply

