Such a Dream

The idea ignites, sparkling splendidly in rainbow designs,

My mind is twitching, attempting to capture it in my confines,

I can’t hold on to it forever and the idea fades fast,

And I know it’ll break free from the web I had cast.

 

I have dreamed of such a dream,

Many days and many nights,

Bursting at the seam,

These dreams filled with lights.

I have dreamed of such a dream,

Where I don’t have to scream,

Where love is self-esteem.

 

And she sings her heart out, searching for those words,

Those epiphanies that soar out like all the other birds,

And she writes until she’s lost her mind somewhere among the haze,

A minuet, sonata, fugue, a simple polonaise.

 

She has dreamed of such a dream,

Many days and many nights,

Bursting at the seam,

These dreams filled with lights.

She has dreamed of such a dream

Where she doesn’t have to scream,

Where love is self-esteem.

 

His drawings never turn out like what was pictured in his head,

Crumpled, one after another, sketches on his bed,

He throws his pencil to the wall, his artistry’s deceived,

He yearns to paint the painting his gentle mind received.

 

He has dreamed of such a dream,

Many days and many nights,

Bursting at the seam,

These dreams filled with lights.

He has dreamed of such a dream,

Where he doesn’t have to scream,

Where love is self-esteem.

 

Together we achieve more than we could have ever alone,

But somehow we linger on the vision that was shown,

We linger on an idea that can’t be brought to life,

We torture ourselves with this daily riddling rife.

 

We have dreamed of such a dream,

Many days and many nights,

Bursting at the seam,

These dreams filled with lights.

We have dreamed of such a dream

And we continue off the ream,

We search to the extreme.

 

We have dreamed of such a dream where we fill what we lack,

We have dreamed of such a dream where we cannot turn back.

11 thoughts on “Such a Dream

  1. Interesting that we wrote of different aspects of the very same thing just now, no? Great minds do think alike! This is marvelous–the rhythms, the patterns, and especially the knowledge that while dreams do fade almost instantaneously, we keep dreaming them, perhaps until some start to take shape into something more lasting . . .

    • Oh yes. I loved your poem oh so much, though I can’t say it influenced this poem as this idea had been blossoming for a while. I suppose our thoughts connected for a bit there.
      Mmm. When dreams become material – that’s where magic begins.

  2. ‘Nessa – This is probably the most beautiful piece I have yet to see you write. You have a sensitivity to the world, and you are able to reflect those feeling in words that fit the feeling. This to me is a song you have written. Are you setting it to music, did you feel it when sitting at the piano? Bravo! – Standing ovation! :-0

    • Actually, this was inspired by a friend of mine who writes music. He’s been sharing with me lately and I suppose I got inspired by his amazing instrumentals (he’s writing his own lyrics).
      Maybe I’ll add a tune to this…though I doubt I can sing.

  3. Your poems are always fun to read, challenging, and surely introspective! They force me to feel comfortable with feeling bad as much as I feel comfortable with feeling good! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

      • Most of us don’t want to confront our dark feelings. We would rather indulge ourselves in pretentiously happy moods to run away from those bad feelings. But we can never run away from ourselves. It may take us years to realize that we must confront the demons within us in order to actually live life to the fullest. Some courageous people like you however have no problem confronting those demons and exposing them to the outside world, thereby helping those of us do the same, assuring us that it’s okay to talk, write, sing about bad or dark feelings; that life isn’t always happy jolly. 🙂 That’s what I meant basically. 😀

        • Ah I see. I think you’re just as comfortable as I am with this darkness if you can talk about it in such a way.
          Life is life, and sometimes it goes up, other times it goes down. We write with what we’ve got, no? (:

Leave a Reply

