Fate and Fortune

If you leave me in your tracks to follow you

into a darkness

where all is shattered,

Then I will sink deeper than before

and forget all

that mattered.

 

If you tell me not to be scared of all

the little things

that happen to get in my way,

I will only become more aware

of those things

that haunt my day.

 

I was taken in,

entranced,

by your very selfish lies,

But somehow

I’ll break free from what

might lead

to my demise.

 

I hate to think that I could hate the ones that I very well love,

But it’s hard when I’m praying and receiving no answer from the powers up above,

But life was never simple, never easy to understand,

My fate and fortune will depend entirely on my own hand.

6 thoughts on “Fate and Fortune

Leave a Reply

