The Relationship Between Him and I

Him and I, we’re closer than the beach to the sea,

Him and I, we’re closer than I want to be.

I don’t know how long it’ll last

Or if it’ll end up in the past,

But I can’t quite let go – no, not yet,

I can’t quite let go of his silhouette.

 

My fingers pressed against his slate,

My love is damning my own heart rate,

Feelings overwhelm at the sight of him,

Tears about to spill over brim.

 

I like to imagine that his love equals mine,

That somewhere out there I’ll receive a sign

That I’m not just dreaming up a world

To replace the one that he had hurled.

 

Once a year – I limit my visit to that one fateful day,

The day I lost my love and gained him in dismay.

 

It’s cold – his marble against my back,

It’s hot – my heart has widened up the crack.

 

Today is the day I promised to forgive and forget,

But I know, year after year, I leave with that same regret.

8 thoughts on “The Relationship Between Him and I

  1. Pingback: The Seven “X” Seven Link Award « Stronghold

  2. Pingback: The Day We Met: Re: Bluesander « iLiveForSleep

Leave a Reply

