[CAS] Piano Recital

I love music.

I really can’t say much more than that.

There’s something about performing at a mall that always strikes my heart and not necessarily in the best way. I’m a bad performer. I’ll admit that now before I get anyone thinking that I’m actually good at performing. Just performing in general. Just because it was piano this time doesn’t mean that has any effect on the result of my performance. No, I’m simply bad at dealing with an audience.

I love playing the piano. Not practicing, but playing. I love hearing the notes come alive before me. Cheesy, but it’s true.

This recital for me was probably my worst performance yet. I don’t think I’ve ever played that badly except maybe during that piano festival two years ago where I completely screwed up and had to start over. Yeah, that’s right. Failure is my best pal when it comes to piano. That’s okay. Failure now is better than failure later…if there is a later. It’s hard to say when it comes to piano. I’m not quite sure what I’m doing with it. I’ll finish ARCT and see where to go from there. Aiming to take my exam a little over a year from now. Not sure if I’m going to be able to, but a girl can try, can’t she?

My performance of Joy to the World was alright. My Impromptu? Horrific. I was laughing by the end of it. My teacher laughed too. I messed up big time though I didn’t stop so I guess whatever audience I had didn’t notice too much. IB has seriously been cutting into my practice time. Well definitely make it a goal to practice more.

What have I learned today and so far from piano this year? Performing is a major weakness. Improvisation is a strength of mine.

Challenge/Goal: Make my next performance, regardless of location and time, as perfect as possible.

I think my teacher knows I don’t practice. Hah. Yeah, I have a long way to go in my musical  career.  To think that it only started since I was trying to do everything my friend was doing…11 years ago. Time passes by so fast.

2 thoughts on “[CAS] Piano Recital

  1. If you love music, make love to it. Remove your mind from the process and follow your heart. Trying to practice takes will and persistence. Making love comes freely and naturally. When you have to try stop trying. The reason you have trouble with audiences is because you begin playing for the perceived standard of what they will hear and like and you stop coming from a place of love. Just pull the shades back and let the light of your beautiful heart shine through the music. Send you mind on a away for a bit.

    • I think I real problem I have is my lack of interest in classical music. Due to that lack of interest, I have a lack of practice. Lack of practice then causes a lack of ability to perform well. I can’t play the piece perfectly without an audience, how can I possibly play it well in front of one?
      But yes, I think I should go deeper into music if I really have a passion for it. At the moment, poetry has caught me in its grasps.

Leave a Reply

